Peshawar Zalmi reach final after beating United by Eight Wickets

Peshawar Zalmi reach final after beating United by Eight Wickets

Peshawar Zalmi beat Islamabad United by 8 runs on Tuesday to chase the 175 run target. This was due to the impressive batting of Hazratullah Ziazai (66) as well as Jono Wells (55)

Reported that the Zalmi, who reached the final for fourth consecutive time, will now face Multan Sultans at Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium on June 24. Zalmi was the first to bat for United, scoring 174 runs for nine wickets. This set a 175 run target for Wahab Riaz’s side. 

Hasan Ali’s first innings of batting with the ball were less successful than his first innings, where he scored 45 runs off 16 balls. In the first over, Hasan Ali gave up 15 runs including six more. He ended the game on a high note when he dismissed Kamran Akmal ((8)) in the final ball.

See Also: Karachi Kings make it to Playoff after Defeating Gladiators

Mohammad Wasim finally gave a breakthrough to the United when he dismissed Zazai (66), breaking the 126-run partnership of the Afghan batter with Wells (55). Shoaib Malik (32) came to the crease following Zazai’s dismissal. He hit three consecutive fours to end the match and send his team to the finals.

Islamabad United won. Usman Khawaja went for a duck. Colin Munro scored 44. Muhammad Akhlaq 17, Brandon King 18, Iftikhar Ahmad 10, Shadab Khan 15 and Shadab Khan 15. Asif Ali 8, Faheem Akhlaf 1, Hasan Ali 45. Mohammad Wasim was not out for 17 not out.

Umaid Asif and Skipper Riaz each took two wickets, while Amad Butt and Mohammad Irfan each picked up one wicket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *